Andrew M. Coffey, P.A.
Call for a Free Initial Consultation
Local 954.406.9272
Specialist in Florida Criminal Trial Law

November 2014 Archives

Florida shoplifting convictions can carry fines, service hours

Individuals convicted of a second shoplifting charge in Florida could be fined up to $1,000 or ordered to provide more than 125 hours of public service work. Labeled as "petit theft" in Florida statues, a second conviction for shoplifting can mean paying a hefty fine or having to provide a ton of community service hours to a local agency.

Florida shoplifting convictions can carry fines, service hours

Individuals convicted of a second shoplifting charge in Florida could be fined up to $1,000 or ordered to provide more than 125 hours of public service work. Labeled as "petit theft" in Florida statues, a second conviction for shoplifting can mean paying a hefty fine or having to provide a ton of community service hours to a local agency.

Florida woman pleads self-defense after shooting boyfriend

A Florida woman is on trial for killing her long-time boyfriend. In court, her attorney made the argument that she shot the man in self-defense, but the prosecutor insisted that the man was asleep at the time and did not pose an immediate threat to the defendant. However, the woman claims that she suffered years of physical and verbal abuse at the hands of her now-deceased boyfriend.

Florida woman pleads self-defense after shooting boyfriend

A Florida woman is on trial for killing her long-time boyfriend. In court, her attorney made the argument that she shot the man in self-defense, but the prosecutor insisted that the man was asleep at the time and did not pose an immediate threat to the defendant. However, the woman claims that she suffered years of physical and verbal abuse at the hands of her now-deceased boyfriend.

Can a juvenile record be sealed or expunged?

Many people in Florida have the mistaken belief that juvenile records automatically go away once the youth reaches the age of 18. This is not the case, however. When a person has a juvenile criminal record, he or she must apply to have the record either sealed or expunged after they have successfully completed all terms of their adjudication.

Can a juvenile record be sealed or expunged?

Many people in Florida have the mistaken belief that juvenile records automatically go away once the youth reaches the age of 18. This is not the case, however. When a person has a juvenile criminal record, he or she must apply to have the record either sealed or expunged after they have successfully completed all terms of their adjudication.

EMAIL US FOR A RESPONSE
Certified | The Florida Bar | Criminal Trial Law

Andrew M. Coffey has been recognized as a Board Certified Civil Trial lawyer by the Florida Bar. Certification is the highest level of recognition by The Florida Bar of the competency and experience of attorneys in the areas of law approved for certification by the Supreme Court of Florida.

Super Lawyers

Recently Named Florida Super Lawyer

Contact Us To Schedule A Free Consultation
Andrew M. Coffey, P.A. | Attorney at Law

Andrew M. Coffey, P.A.
208 SE 6th Street
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301

Toll Free: 888-332-3451
Phone: 954-467-5700
Fort Lauderdale Law Office Map

E-mail Us
Review Us