Florida defines theft as the taking or using of someone else’s property. The law further states a person committing this crime may appropriate the property for his or her use or for another person not allowed to use the property.
Known as petty theft in other states, Florida calls this theft “petit theft.” First and second-degree thefts are misdemeanors.
- Property value of less than $100
- Imprisonment of not more than 60 days and a fine of not more than $500
- Property stolen of more than $100 but less than $300
- A punishment of at least one year in prison and a fine with a maximum of $1,000
Grand theft has three degrees, of which there are many types of offenses. Grand theft is a felony in the state of Florida.
- Theft of property valued between $750 and $20,000
- Stealing of firearms or motor vehicles
- Five-year prison sentence and a maximum fine of $5,000
- Theft of property valued between $20,000 and $100,000
- Theft of emergency or law enforcement equipment
- Maximum five years in prison and a fine of not more than $5,000
- Property valued at more than $100,000
- Theft of a motor vehicle that gets used in a crime with damage of $1,000 or more
- Imprisonment of 30 years or less with a maximum fine of $10,000
There are several legal defenses for theft. Choosing the right defense strategy for an individual’s situation may get the charges reduced or even dismissed.