The punishment severity you may face with a theft conviction depends on the value of the item(s) taken and the circumstances of the crime. According to the Florida Statutes, theft is a generic term for crimes in which a person purposefully takes another person’s property without permission. Florida divides theft crimes into petit theft and grand theft.
Each category has multiple degrees, and each degree has penalties that can include fines, probation and jail time that a judge will decide based on the details of your case.
You may face petit theft of the first-degree charges if the property stolen is worth more than $100 but less than $750. Petit theft is a misdemeanor. As such, penalties may include a year in jail, a year of probation, a fine up to $1,000 and loss of driving privileges. Whether this is a first or subsequent offense can affect the penalties assigned.
There are three degrees of grand theft. You may face charges of grand theft of the third degree if the property unlawfully taken is worth more than $750, but less than $20,000, was a controlled substance, a firearm, motor vehicle or testamentary documents, such as a will. Grand theft is a felony offense. Penalties for the third degree can include up to five years in jail or probation and a fine up to $5,000. As the type of grand theft increases in value or severity, so does the potential punishment
If violence or the threat of violence occurred during the crime, severity increases, and you could face a lifetime prison sentence. The possibility of negotiating down the severity of grand theft charges, accepting a plea bargain or dismissal of charges depends on the unique details of your case.