Florida law makes it a crime to use, possess or attempt to sell cocaine. If you are charged with crimes related to the use or possession of cocaine, you could spend many years or decades in prison in addition to a large fine. A conviction may also make it harder to find a job, a place to live or even vote in an election.
Possession of cocaine
Possession of cocaine is treated as a felony in the third degree if you are found with less than 28 grams of this substance. If you are found with 28 or more grams, you’ll be charged with a first-degree felony, which carries penalties of up to life in prison depending on how much you are found with. In the event that you’re convicted of this crime, you could face up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
The sale of cocaine
If you are found with any amount of cocaine with the intent to sell it, you could face at least three years in prison and a fine of up to $50,000. Penalties will be enhanced if you conduct a transaction within 1,000 feet of a school, church or other select locations.
Trafficking cocaine is among the most serious Florida drug charges that you can face and carries a prison sentence of at least three years in prison and a fine of up to $50,000. However, this assumes that you are in possession of less than 28 grams of cocaine. If you are in possession of more than 400 grams, you could be imprisoned for up to 15 years and pay a fine of $250,000.
If you are facing any type of cocaine charge, you’ll have a chance to defend yourself in court. This may be done by asserting that you only had something that looked like cocaine or that authorities obtained evidence in violation of your Fourth Amendment rights. Taking these steps may be enough to get your case dismissed or to negotiate a favorable plea deal.